Gayatri Mantra Meditation 24 Syllables Meanings

Gayatri Mantra Meditation Sri Amit Ray Teachings

Gayatri Mantra Meaning and Meditation

Sri Amit Ray speaks about the meanings of the 24 syllables of the Gayatri Mantra and the art of  Gayatri Mantra Meditation.    

The Gayatri mantra is one of the most sacred and important meditation technique. There are 24 Syllables in this mantra and the meaning of the Gayatri mantra is hidden in these syllables. These 24 syllables are also associated with the 24 chakras. Here, we discussed the syllable by syllable meaning of the mantra and the art of meditating on those meanings. 

Gayatri Mantra Meditation 24 Syllables Meanings Sri Amit Ray Teachings

Gayatri Mantra Meditation 24 Syllables Meanings Sri Amit Ray Teachings

The Gayatri Mantra

Om Bhur, Bhuva, Swaha

Tat Savitur Varenyam

Bhargo Devasya Dheemahi

Dhiyo Yonaha Prachodayat.

The Meaning of the Gayatri Mantra

The meaning of the Gayatri Mantra is as follows:

“Om – I invoke the all pervading Supreme divinity, which pervades the physical world, the mental world, the celestial and the higher spiritual worlds. I remember that Supreme Sun, the creator, the preserver, the glorious, Adorable and the Loveable one. I Meditate on that Shining Intelligent and the Effulgent Power and invoke that Supreme Helpful Divinity. Give us, intelligence, understandings, courage, and guide us, inspire us, and enlighten us.” — Amit Ray

The Meaning of the Gayatri Mantra 24 Syllables

The word gayatri means “Goddess who protects the singer” (from gai—“to sing,” and trai—“to protect”).  Learning the gayathri chandas – rhythms are very important. You must understand difference between chanda and mantra.  The word Chanda means pleasing, alluring, lovely, delightful or charming effects. Basic knowledge of chanda is essential to understand the meaning of the mantra. The original Gayatri metre was structured with 4 verses of 24 syllables. To protect the misuse of the mantra, it has changed to different forms by different traditions. The hymn invokes the Five Fires of Life.  The are composed in the metre gayatri. 

The Sanskrit words have two types of meanings. The Bakya-artha – literal meanings, and the Lakha-artha – target contextual meanings. Here we focus on the Lakhartha of the Gayatri Mantra. Not on the literal meanings of the words but on the target contextual meanings of the 24 syllables, because for meditation purpose contextual meanings are more important.  The meanings of the 24 Syllables are shown in the figure below:

Gayatri Mantra Meanings and Meditation 24 Syllables Sri Amit Ray Teachings

Gayatri Mantra Meditation

These meanings of these 24 syllables of the mantra are linked to the 24 chakras in the human body.  The twilight hours—morning and evening are the best hours for Gayatri meditation. Meditation during these two periods protect the mantra chanter. The 24 syllables based chakra meditation clears the negative emotions.  Ida Pingala and Sushumna nadis are activated by the Gayatri mantra meditation. 

This meditation is easy to do and will require only 10- 30 minutes (longer if you like). During this meditation session, you will need to remain awake. Choose a position that is comfortable, but not one that will lead to sleep. You might wish to sit upright in a firm chair, stand leaning on a wall, kneel on the floor, or sit cross-legged. To clear your negative emotions follow these simple meditation steps:

  1. Begin by closing your eyes and relaxing your whole body.
  2. Breath slowly and smoothly, letting go on the exhalation.
  3. Smooth facial muscles and focus attention on the navel chakra.
  4. Breathe Six Times from your Kurma Chakra and bring balance and stability in your body and mind.  
  5. Close your eyes. Simultaneously feel this softness of your eyes.
  6. Place the tongue behind the teeth to connect the energy circuit for the entire practice.
  7. Relax your jaw.
  8.  Swallow your Saliva Three Times and feel your throat open and relax.
  9. Invoke Goddess Gayatri in the Hita Nadi, with devotion and love.
  10. Thank her for giving you the power of balance in life, intelligence, prosperity  and speech.
  11. Visualize your heart chakra like a blossoming flower. 
  12. Feel your heart soften and fill with the golden love and nectar of Goddess Gayatri.
  13. Release all negativity. Send a smiling love to your heart.
  14. Chant the 24 syllables of the mantra and move your awareness to the 24 chakras in the body in Gayatri rhythm along the Gayatri Nadi. 
  15. Thank her for giving you compassion, kindness, joy, good-luck and positive mindset .
  16. Spread the loving energy from the heart to your 24 chakras
  17. Release all the mental and spiritual blockages. 
  18. Store the divine energy in the Sanjivani Chakra.
  19. Avoid accumulating excess heat in the head chakra, heart chakra or navel chakra. 
  20. Move the excess energy to the Atharva Chakras and store them. 
  21. Honor the divine energy of your life.
“Harmony and balance comes from the positive energies of the chakras. The Gayatri Mantra breaks the cycles of negativity and removes the causes and symptoms of disharmony and the sufferings.” — Amit Ray